The start of something great

All great things start with the first step, or with a swift kick in the behind, whichever comes first.

I’ve been wondering out loud, drunkenly discussing and threatening to start my travel blog.  It’s gotten to the point that the Photog (my amazingly creative and inspiring partner in minor offences) has prepared, categorized and pointedly emailed me his pictorial documentation of our travels.  All that is left for me to do is add the words.

So that is what I’m doing today.

See?  I started with a good one.  Who wouldn’t enjoy an epically pink roadside stall?

This was the beginning of our latest road-trip.  From Joburg to Namibia through Botswana and back home.  Over 5000 km’s of fun, blowouts, campsites and Gary (my trusty Yaris) learning to off-road.

The Pienk Padstal is on the outskirts of Kakamas on the way out of Upington towards Pofadder (yes I can proudly say I’ve been through Pofadder). And it lives splendidly up to its name. Everything is pink, the ceiling, walls, even the floor (thanks to pink quartz).

My personal best would have to be the pink/pienk donkey cart family parked outside. It’s filled with other great oddities and photo opportunities, like a pink motorcycle, and each item has its own placard telling you about its life and how it ended up at the padstal.

There’s a little cafe that serves toasties and the like but since we just stopped for a quick peek I can only tell you that the coconut ice and pink and white peanuts are good and moreish road-trip food.

Leave a Reply

