Pure Pretoria

So I have been a bad bunny, lazy with posts and drinking too much as the poor Photog experienced on Friday. But that’s a whole nother story.

Getting back on track last Saturday the Photog decided to surprise me for a change with a new spot for brekkie.  We have a sort of friendly competition where we try to outdo one another in discovering cool new places to try.  A bit of competition is healthy in a relationship I say, as long as I win most of the time.

The Photog had his google map ready and off we went deep into the heart of Pretoria.  I have not explored our capital city much, I am ashamed to say I assume the worst and think that all culture resides in Jozi.  But I’m starting to think this is not so.

We arrived quite easily at a delightful little restaurant/deli/coffee shop called Pure.  I was instantly smitten with the decor and my eye was drawn to the breakfast pizza.  I have been searching for a place that makes this wonderful concoction for a while so I was definitely a happy bunny.

(On a side note I forgot to remind the Photog to bring a camera so all these pics are courtesy of my little redberry.  The Photog doesn’t want to lay claim to these – perfectionist.)

The coffee was yummy and up to the Photog’s standards, plus they have this delicious flavoured espresso.  Of course I had the breakfast pizza while the Photog went the lunch route and had a very tasty aubergine dish.  Overall great service, the prices were quite reasonable and delightful food.

Plus a super cool antique store next door!

I am always on the look-out for super antique/vintage stores and this lovely treasure trove was just begging for a visit.  I nearly walked away with all the suitcases and a giant copper kettle.  Don’t know what I was planning on doing with it but it’s shininess was almost too good to resist.

And there was a man selling awesome re-done vintage chairs. Birdy num num, need I say more.

3 thoughts on “Pure Pretoria

  1. 2summers says:

    This is the second glowing review I’ve read about this place lately — obviously I need to check it out next time I’m in Pretoria. Love your blog — keep posting!

Leave a Reply

